The 7 Stages of Dementia

Dementia is a group of diseases characterized by a decline in mental functions. It is a progressive condition that can be caused by some physical changes in your central nervous system. This means that symptoms tend to become worse over time. Some common types of dementia include Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, vascular dementia, frontotemporal dementia, and mixed dementia. Depending on people, the progression can be slow or quick. While the condition is incurable and irreversible, early diagnosis would help slow down the advancement and extend your lifespan. Keep reading to learn about 7 stages of dementia and their typical symptoms.

1No Cognitive Issue

The first stage of dementia could also be categorized as the normal functioning phase. During this period, you might not demonstrate any considerable issues with memory or cognitive impairment. Even after a clinical interview with your doctor, there will be no evidence on the memory deficit. Along with stage 2 and 3, stage 1 is often a part of the pre-dementia development. No treatment is needed for the patients during this time. [1]


Related Articles

10 Asperger Syndrome Symptoms

Ailments & Conditions
Asperger syndrome or Asperger's is a type of autism that is mostly diagnosed in adults and older children. It is typically characterized by considerable...

Vertigo: Causes, Symptoms, Treatments & Diet

Your Health
Vertigo is sometimes called a symptom rather than a condition. It is a medical condition that gives you a whirling and spinning sensation which...

10 Causes of Stroke You Need to Know

Ailments & Conditions
Stroke is one of the diseases infamous among seniors all over the world. Well, almost everyone thinks it is associated with the aged alone,...

10 Common Signs & Symptoms of Cerebral Palsy

Ailments & Conditions
Cerebral palsy is a health issue that affects your body posture and capability of controlling muscle groups. As a result, it tends to have...

10 Early Signs and Symptoms of Dementia

Ailments & Conditions
Dementia is a collective term for symptoms experienced due to several possible diseases. Dementia symptoms often associated with declining cognitive functioning - reasoning, remembering,...

10 Facts of Ischemic Stroke

Ailments & Conditions
What Is Ischemic Stroke? An ischemic stroke is a form of stroke, which is also known as cerebral ischemia or brain ischemia. It often occurs...

10 Sciatica Treatments Back to Normal Life

Fitness & Wellness
Sciatica is a type of pain which radiates along the pathway of your sciatic nerve. This condition might result in excruciating pain and some...

10 Symptoms of Brain Tumor

Ailments & Conditions
A brain tumor is a growth or mass of abnormal cells in the brain. There is a variety of brain tumors, which can be...