Emphysema – Stages & Life Expectancy

Along with bronchiectasis and chronic bronchitis, emphysema is a form of COPD or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. This lung condition occurs when the tiny air sacs, also known as alveoli, are damaged. These parts are responsible for exchanging carbon dioxide and oxygen. Therefore, emphysema might lead to trapped air, causing your lungs to rupture and expand. Over time, the level of oxygen in the bloodstream will reduce, while the level of carbon dioxide will increase. Emphysema goes through different stages with different symptoms. This guide will show you some basic facts about these phases and life expectancy for people with this disease.

14 Stages of Emphysema

Stage 1 – Mild Emphysema

This is the earliest stage of emphysema. People in this phase might have some airflow limitation. However, these symptoms are so subtle that it can be hard to notice. For instance, you would experience increased production of mucus or persistent cough, which are quite similar to a normal fever or cold. In some cases, there would even be no sign at all. Due to these low-grade symptoms, you do not need to seek medical treatments at this stage. [1]


Related Articles

12 Common Signs & Symptoms of Bronchitis

Ailments & Conditions
Bronchitis is a condition that you develop when your bronchial tubes become inflamed. When the tubes will swell, it will accumulate mucus and will...

10 Early Signs of Lung Cancer

Ailments & Conditions
Lung cancer is one of the most common types of cancer in both females and males. It is caused when a tumor occurs in...

10 Flu Remedies and Treatments You Should Know

Your Health
Flu is a common viral infection that can take the life of the victims if not immediately attended to. This viral infection spreads quickly,...

10 Home Remedies for a Sore Throat for Instant Relief

Ailments & Conditions
A sore throat is a shared experience and is always related to irritation, pain, and itchiness of the throat. Most people often experience throat...

10 Symptoms of Pneumonia

Ailments & Conditions
You may have ever heard of Pneumonia illness if not affected. It is a common illness that affects the alveoli of the lungs which...

10 Tips for Managing COPD

Your Health
People with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or COPD tend to have difficulties breathing. In addition, there might be some other health issues such as...

10 Symptoms of Whooping Cough

Ailments & Conditions
Have you ever been down with a kind of cough that takes your whole breath away, and just within a few seconds, you catch...

12 Common Mumps Symptoms

Ailments & Conditions
Mumps is a highly contagious disease that is transmitted through respiratory secretion or direct contact with a person that is affected. This disease can...